clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rowdies release four, RailHawks announce six signings

Norm Hall/Getty Images

Tampa Bay has a new coach in former MLS Coach of the Year Thomas Rongen, and the club also announced on Wednesday that they'd be parting ways with four players who spent last season with the Rowdies. Goalkeeper Ryan Thompson, defender Jordan Gafa and midfielders Kyle Clinton and Evans Frimpong were all released by the club, and will be free to sign elsewhere effective immediately. Forward Lucky Mkosana will also be playing elsewhere next season, having signed with the New York Cosmos last week as a replacement for Jemal Johnson.

Three of the four releases are a bit unsurprising, though I'm sort of surprised that the club couldn't find a use for Frimpong. Without knowing what the player was being paid relative to his teammates though, it's hard to criticize the move too much. I'd expect he latches on with another NASL side this season, as he's certainly a good enough player to help out a number of clubs in the league.

Meanwhile, the Carolina RailHawks were busy, picking up and declining several contract options. The club picked up the options of Daniel Scott, Connor Tobin, Leo Osaki, Nazmi Albadawi, Tiyi Shipalane, and Daniel Jackson for the 2015 season. Shipalane in particular was impressive last season, as were the RailHawks' center back duo. In the same announcement, the RailHawks announced that they have declined the contract options of Jordan Burt, Uriah Bentick, Gabe Latigue, Danny Barrera, and Aaron King.

Barrera is the only somewhat surprising name on this list, as I'd have thought he'd have a place in the 2015 squad. Again though, without knowing what he was due to be paid, it's hard to be to critical of his release. Like Frimpong, I'd fully expect Barrera to latch on with another NASL side, assuming they have an international slot avaiable.